2011 in Review

It’s been a very busy year. The excitement just never seems to end with a toddler in the house! Isaiah is always learning something new or discovering something wonderful. Being around him is like discovering things all over again because I get to see them through his eyes.

Since so very much has happened, I can’t possibly cover it all. If you really want to know all the details, most of them are stored away in previous posts. Today, though, I just wanted to give some highlights and share some of my favorite pictures.

January

Our New Year’s was fairly uneventful. Isaiah and I were both awake for it. This was Isaiah’s first New Year. He didn’t find anything to be all that special about it. He was only up because it was time to nurse!
This month was Isaiah’s first birthday, too. He had a horse themed birthday party with friends from church and the 4-H club I help with. He spent part of the party trying to get his little hands on the decorations because they looked so fun. He had a wonderful time at his party and made the expected mess of his cake.
Right before Christmas, my uncle got very sick and was in the hospital for several weeks. There were times that the doctors were sure he wouldn’t make it, but, after many, many prayers, he started slowly recovering. During the time he was in the hospital, two of his kids came to stay with us so their mom could be with him more.

Playing party games

February

This month brought Isaiah’s first haircut. He really needed it! He sat on my lap and grinned at the girl as she cut his hair.
Baths became a common occurrence, as they were sure to bring a smile. One brought extra giggles because Thomas accidentally jumped into a tub full of water. Oops! He was one soggy kitty.

Isaiah and his kitty

March

Happy birthday to me! I turned twenty one this month. Not that it’s all that exciting, since I don’t drink.
I got some really cute pictures of me and Isaiah together one day when we had the house to ourselves. He loves to goof around for the camera if I can just catch him in a pleasant mood (preferably, right after a nap or nursing).
Sometime in March, spring decided to make its first appearance, so we started spending more time outside.

Ok, maybe I took too many pictures...

April

My parents’ anniversary is in April. My dad had to be out of town for it, though. He wasn’t very happy about that and we celebrated early.
One of my friends had a baby the day before my birthday (why couldn’t she have waited one more day?) and had a baby shower this month. Isaiah and I got to go and I had so much fun cuddling her baby. Isaiah liked her cousins and spent the day following them around.

Isaiah with baby Penny

May

Isaiah and I were loving the spring weather and spent most of May out and about. The park is within walking distance, as well as other fun places to play or take pictures. I bought a mei tai for our walks that promptly fell apart, much to Isaiah’s dismay. He kept begging to ride in it, so I found a pattern online and made my own. I now have two that I’ve made and we absolutely love using them.

Our Eventful Walk, May 24, 2011

Such a cutie!

June

By June, Isaiah and I had settled into a pattern of going out after lunch most days. It was a good way to get Isaiah worn out for his nap and the fresh air was good for both of us. Some days, going out wasn’t an option, due to weather. We found plenty of ways to entertain ourselves inside, too, though. Isaiah loves crafts!
And, of course, we can’t forget DJ’s birthday! He had a fun day.

Rainy Day, June 21, 2011

Bubbles with Gram

July

The 4th of July was tons of fun. I love the parades and fireworks. I took Isaiah to a neighboring town to see their parade, as it’s always worth the drive. He thought it was pretty amazing! He learned a new word that day–“truck!!” Everything on wheels was suddenly a truck. He wasn’t as into the fireworks. He liked the daytime stuff, like parachutes and snakes.
We went to a hand game, too. I’d never been to one before, so it was a fun, new experience. Isaiah thought the fry bread was the best part.
The biggest highlight of my month, though, was getting to go trail riding. I had a great time enjoying my friend, the horses and being out in the middle of nowhere for a few hours.

Riding Barney, July 3, 2011

Me riding Barney

August

Go Fish came to a sort of nearby city this month. Isaiah has been listening to their music for quite a while, so we decided to load up and go. It was a free concert, so I figured if he was overwhelmed and had to leave, it wasn’t any real loss. In the end, he loved it! He even recognized the guys from the countless YouTube videos and grinned at them in the autograph line.
This was fair month, too, so my mom and I took Isaiah to check it out. He really loved all the animals, although he found some of them a bit intimidating.
This month wasn’t all fun. We all had to say goodbye to Barney at the beginning of the month. He got sick suddenly and, in spite of lots of care and visits from the vet, couldn’t be helped. He’ll certainly be missed.

Getting to see Go Fish up close

September

September brings fall with it, which means lots of geese. We made several trips to hang out at a nearby lake so Isaiah could see them. He found it all so fascinating. He would have happily gone out in the water, following geese.
Isaiah is a very creative child. He loves all forms of art. When he found a pen with my school stuff, he had no trouble figuring out what to do with it–he made his legs pretty!

Ink, September 17, 2011

Pretty legs

October

Since Isaiah had already discovered he could draw on himself, my dad added a new twist. He brought out a black light and we used highlighters to draw on our hands and arms. Isaiah was amazed at how it worked. My yellow highlighters are so faint that we couldn’t even see the marks until they were under the black light.
I took a language development class this semester. One of my assignments was to write a children’s book. I have very little drawing skill, so I decided my best bet for a nice book was to pose Isaiah and take his picture. It turned out really well and I even ordered a print copy of it to give him for Christmas.

Dressed Up, September 25, 2011

All dressed up

November

Luke came to stay with us for a few days at the beginning of the month. I’m not sure who was more excited about that; Isaiah or Luke! They were thrilled to spend as much of the day as they could playing together. Isaiah even learned a couple of letters and colors because it was so much more fun learning it from Luke. While he was here, the house next to ours was torn down. It’s been condemned for years, but hadn’t had anything done with it. The timing was perfect. Luke loved watching the big equipment working on the job. Of course, Isaiah was in heaven, too! They spent most of the day watching, then Luke wrote about it as part of his homework (this is why homeschooling rocks).
Our month was filled with fun and adventures, but I won’t even try to list them all here. Thanksgiving was relaxed for us. We didn’t do much as far as a traditional celebration because DJ had to work. We had our dinner a few days early, then just hung out on Thanksgiving day. My dad came out with me and Isaiah for a while and took some great pictures of us, since the weather was so nice and he had the day off.

Fun, October 27, 2011

Just being cute

December

Christmas is one of my favorite times of year and the preparation and fun started by the end of November. Isaiah loved helping with the decorating, especially putting ornaments on the tree. We started a new tradition, too. Two elves came to stay at our house for a couple of weeks. They had tons of fun while they were here and Isaiah couldn’t wait to find them each morning!
Isaiah was old enough to be extremely excited about Christmas morning. He lit up when he saw his new kitchen. It took a while to convince him there were other gifts to open! Then, the next day, all our extended family came for a visit. In all, it was a great holiday!

Day 4

Playing with his elves

Looking back, this has been a fun year. There have been some ups and downs, but that’s how life is. There are a lot of things that I hope to never forget. At this rate, next year can only be even better, right? Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “2011 in Review

Share Your Thoughts

