Babywearing Addict

Hi, my name is Elisabeth and I’m addicted to babywearing. No, seriously, I’m majorly addicted to it! I love all the different styles of carriers and even know how to make my own mei tai. When my brother goes into the city for work, he’s going to bring home some awesome fabric for me to make a new one! I can not wait!

There are a bunch of styles of carrier for wearing your baby–or toddler or preschooler. I started out with a wrap because it was the most affordable for me. It was easy to make, even though I’d never actually seen one before. Isaiah was already about eight months old when a friend introduced me to the concept of babywearing. I wish I’d known about it sooner! I wear Isaiah on a nearly daily basis. It’s great for walks when I don’t really want to bring the stroller, but I don’t want him running in the street either. It’s perfect for trying to cook without him getting hurt. It’s even helpful when he doesn’t want to take a nap.

Like I said, my first carrier was a wrap. They’re actually just a long piece of fabric that you wrap around yourself and your baby. There’s definitely a learning curve to this one. It took me a lot of attempts before I got it right and I still had trouble doing it quickly or efficiently. Once I got the hang of it, though, I loved it! The only problem I’ve had with my wrap is that I’m not quite coordinated enough to master a back carry in them and Isaiah was none too helpful.

Sleeping through the 4-H meeting

Asleep in a wrap carrier

About a month ago, I bought a mei tai carrier. Sadly, within a few days, it started to fall apart. Isaiah loved it so much, though! I decided it wouldn’t be fair to him to just give it up immediately and started looking for patterns to make my own. I found one and soon we were able to start walking with him riding in the mei tai I’d made. There are a couple things I don’t like about the pattern I made and, now that I’ve made one, I’m going to alter the pattern and make another. My brother is picking up the fabric for me when he goes to work today.

Mei Tai

Isaiah riding in the mei tai I made

Another great carrier is a ring sling. I don’t have one yet, but I will soon. When my mei tai fell apart, the woman I ordered it from offered to replace it with a ring sling free of charge. I can’t wait to learn to use it! I have friends who talk about how wonderful they are, especially with small babies. Isaiah is older now, so I won’t be using a cradle carry with him, but I can pack it away for future babies to use. I’ve been told it’s wonderful for nursing in public.

I don't have my ring sling yet, so here's one I found online

There are also soft structured carriers that use buckles to hold the baby in place, instead of strategically placed knots. I think these sound extremely appealing, but they’re out of my price range for now. Some of them, like the Ergo, even have a pocket on them to put things in!

Ergo carriers

So, while I am most definitely addicted to babywearing and learning about the carriers, I don’t find it to be much of a problem. The only problem I’ve encountered is that I can’t afford to buy new carriers every time one strikes my fancy. Oh well, I can still enjoy them from afar!

Share Your Thoughts

