Visiting Misty

It was so sunny and warm today. I decided to go out to visit my friend’s horses for a while. It felt so good just to be outside for a while! When I got there, the horses were nowhere in sight. I climbed the fence and headed toward the back of the pasture, figuring they’d be as far away as they can possibly get. They have a tendency to be far out when I go to visit. They weren’t quite all the way out, but they were sure close!

Horses

Pretty Patches

When I got to the top of the hill, I could see Patches’ beautiful white patches. I called out a greeting to her and she jerked her head up and started trotting toward me with her ears pricked forward. She stopped just in front of me so I could scratch her forehead. After giving her a rub, I went over to greet Jade and Misty, too. While I was talking to Misty, Patches decided it was a good time to go into the corral for a drink. Of course, that would be all the way back where I climbed the fence! Jade soon started following Patches, but somehow Misty missed that they were leaving. When she suddenly realized they were gone, she took off as fast as she could go, throwing her head up proudly. At one point, she threw her heels up for a couple small bucks. She was having so much fun in the warm spring weather.

Horses

Look at her go!

Horses

Hurry, hurry, hurry

Back in the corral, I gave all three girls equal attention, constantly being careful not to get between Patches (head mare) and either of the others, just in case she decided to assert her authority. Soon, Patches and Jade realized that I wasn’t going to give them grain and went partway back up the hill to eat hay. Misty watched them leave, but opted to stay back with me.

Horses

So grown up!

Misty has grown up so much over the winter! I didn’t get to spend much time with her while it was cold and snowy. It didn’t seem wise to get in the corral when it looked like an ice rink, so our contact was only over the fence. Misty is a year old, now. She doesn’t look so much like a baby now. She almost looks like a grown horse, but I know she’ll have an awkward “teenager” phase, soon. When I first met Misty, she was extremely shy because she hadn’t been handled much yet. Now, she’s like a different horse! She was so happy to see me. She kept resting her head on my shoulder in a horsey hug and gently nuzzling my face. It was like she was telling me “I love you”! When I gently stroked and rubbed her face, she closed her eyes and relaxed completely. It was a wonderful time for both of us.

Horses

''Hi, Elisabeth!''

Share Your Thoughts

